Department of Dance



Our People


Faculty

Chair

Joel Smith
Composition; Critical Dance Performance; Jazz Technique; Production

Professors Emeriti

Wendy Rogers

Susan Rose

Marta Savigliano

Christena Lindborg Schlundt

Fred Strickler

Linda J. Tomko
History, Embodying Dances Past

Professors

Anthea Kraut
Critical dance studies, critical race theory, U.S. dance history

Associate Professors

Jacqueline Shea Murphy
Cultural Studies, Dance Theory, Choreographing Writing

taisha paggett
Contemporary Performance Practices

Joel Smith
Composition; Critical Dance Performance; Jazz Technique; Production

Assistant Professors

María Regina Firmino-Castillo

Imani Kai Johnson
African Diasporic Ritual Cultures, Hip Hop and Streetdance, Critical Theory, Critical Race Studies

Anusha Kedhar
Indian and Indian diasporic dance practices, dance, labor, and political economy, critical dance ethnography.

Luis Lara Malvacías

Jose L. Reynoso

Ni'Ja Whitson

Lecturers

Brandon J
Hip Hop Dance

Kelli King
Modern/Ballet

Clydean (Makeda Kumasi) Parker
West African

Visiting Lecturers

crystal sepúlveda

Event Specialist

Lily Szeto

Staff

Department of Dance Administration

Marilyn Madrigal
Financial & Administrative Officer
ARTS 126
(951) 827-5491
marilyn.madrigal@ucr.edu

Sarah Nosce
Financial Analyst
(951) 827 – 2127
sarah.nosce@ucr.edu

Elaine Chacon
Academic Advisor
INTN 3033A
(951) 827-3343
elaine.chacon@ucr.edu

Erika Santoyo
Academic Advisor
INTN 3033B
(951) 827-5487

Schedule an Appointment

Kathleen DeAtley
Program Promotions Manager
(951) 827-3245
kathleen.deatley@ucr.edu

Lily Chan Szeto
Event Specialist
lily.szeto@ucr.edu

Gluck Fellows Program of the Arts

Erika Suderburg
Program Director
(951) 827-2685
erika.suderburg@ucr.edu

Christine G. Leapman
Assistant Director
(951) 827-5739
christine.leapman@ucr.edu

CHASS Facilities Administration

Paul Richardson
CHASS Facilities Manager
(951) 827-2675
paul.richardson@ucr.edu

Mary Longtin
Facilities Access & Scheduling Coordinator
(951) 827-2674
mary.longtin@ucr.edu

Julie Salgado
Conference & Events Coordinator
(951) 827-2731
julie.salgado@ucr.edu

Albert Fetter
Instructional Support Technician
(951) 827-3869
albert.fetter@ucr.edu

Ph.D. Students

M.F.A. Students

Postdoctoral Fellows

Alumni Ph.D.

Alumni M.F.A.

Alumni M.A.

Alumni B.A.

Guest Artists

In addition to the outstanding faculty of nationally recognized scholars and artists in the Department of Dance at UCR, visiting scholars, choreographers, and professional dancers come to UCR frequently for residencies, to perform, and to conduct workshops, master classes and lectures. Visiting guest artists add to the scholarly dialogue and artistic exchange nurtured at UCR.

Learn more about our past guest artists and events

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

Department of Dance
121 Arts Building

Tel: (951) 827-3944
Fax: (951) 827-4651

Graduate Program Inquiries:
danceadvising@ucr.edu

Undergraduate Program Inquiries:
artspaa-advising@ucr.edu

Footer